Mecikalski Stovewood Museum to open for the summer
The Mecikalski Stovewood Museum will open for tours Sunday, June 23. This unique historic building is located in Jennings and was built more than 100 years ago. The structure has been carefully restored to its original glory and is filled with period antiques and other interesting artifacts.
This year, visitors will also get to meet Eugene V. Mecikalski, the grandson of Steve Mecikalski, the younger brother of John Mecikalski, who constructed the stovewood building in 1899.
Eugene is an accomplished artist with printmaking, wood engraving and lithography being his specialty. He has won numerous awards with his art, including the Samuel F.B. Morse Gold Medal won at the National Academy of Design in New York. The United States Library of Congress has purchased 13 of his award-winning prints for their collection. In addition, the New York Metropolitan Museum of Art also owns some of his prints.
Eugene will be present for the opening of the museum Sunday, June 23, from 2 to 4 p.m. He will also be at the museum June 24 to 29 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Docents will be available for tours during these times. The museum is located six miles east of Pelican Lake on Cty. B.
For more information, call museum curator Donna Gauger at (715) 369-9142.